For the love of a golden pear …

Our pears are now almost ripe for the picking …

photo (59)

When I was a little girl, one of my favourite nursery rhymes was “I had a Little Nut Tree” which bore “a silver nutmeg and a golden pear” and so I now grow pear trees in my garden. The rhyme, in case you’ve forgotten, goes like this (for origin and history, see this page):

I had a Little Nut Tree
Nursery Rhyme lyrics, origins and history

I had a little nut tree,
Nothing would it bear
But a silver nutmeg,
And a golden pear;
The King of Spain’s daughter
Came to visit me,
And all for the sake
Of my little nut tree.

This is, by the way, what the pear trees looked like in spring, they are quite lovely, though not colourful… I grow both the Asian and the European pear espaliered against our fence. So you see …you never know the kind of fruit, the kind of nursery rhymes you read your kids will bear …

Pears in flower

Pear trees in flower

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Growth

Leave a Reply

